Notification of Public Holidays 2017 & Optional Holidays 2017

Government of Pakistan, Ministry of Interior has issued Notification No. F.No.2/ 4/ -2016(Public)/Holidays dated 11-01-2017 in connection with Notification of Public Holidays 2017 and Optional Holidays 2017. Detail is as under:

According to this Notification, following Public and Optional holidays for the calendar year 2017 is being notified:


List of Public Holidays 2017

1 Kashmir Day Sunday 5th February, 2017

2 Pakistan Day Thursday 23rd March, 2017

3 Labor Day Monday 1st May, 2017

4* Eid-ul-Fitr, (1st Shawall 438 AH) Tuesday & Wednesday 27th & 28th June, 2017

5 Independence Day Monday 14th August, 2017

6* Eid-ul-Azha, (10th Zil Haj 1438 , Friday, Saturday, 1st, 2nd & 3rd (AH) Sunday September, 2017

7* Ashura (9th & 10th Moharrurn Saturday & Sunday 30th September & 1439 AH) 1st October, 2017

8* Eid Milad-un-Nabi (12 Rabi-ul- Friday 1ST December , 2017 Awall 438 AH)

9 Quaid-e-Azam Day/Christmas Monday 25th December, 2017

10 Day after Christmas Tuesday 26th December, 2017 (For Christians only)

  1. The following days will be Bank holidays and Banks will remain closed for public but NOT for their employees:
  2. 2nd January, 2017 (Monday)
  3. 27th May, 2017 (Saturday) corresponding to 1st Ramzan 1438 (subject to appearance of moon).

iii. 3rd July, 2017 (Monday)


Holidays for Muslim Festivals are subject to appearance of moon for which a separate notification will be issued by Ministry of Interior.

List of Optional Holidays 2017

1 New Year Day Sunday 1st January, 2017

2** Giarhwin Sharief (11 Rabi-us-Sani 1438 Monday 30th January, 2017 AH)

3 Basant Punchami Wednesday 1st February, 2017

4 Shivaratri Friday 24th February, 2017

5 Dulhandi Sunday 12th March, 2017

6 Holi Monday 13th March,2017

7 Good Friday Friday 14th April, 2017

8 Baisakhi Friday 14th April, 2017

9 Easter Sunday 16 April, 2017

10 Day after Easter Monday. 17th April 2017

11 Eid-e-Rizwan (Bahai’s Community only) Friday 21st April, 2017

12** Shab-e-Meraj (27 Rajab 1438 AH) Tuesday 25th April, 2017

13 Buddha Purnima Friday 28th April, 2017

14** Shab-e-Barat (15 Shaban 1438 AH) Friday 12th May, 2017

15 Janam Ashtami Tuesday 15th August, 2017

16 Nauroze (Parsi’s New Year Day) Thursday 17th August, 2017

17 Birthday of Lord Zoroaster (Khordad Sal) Tuesday 22nd August, 2017

18 Durga Pooja Thursday 21st September, 2017

19 Birthday of Guru Valmik Sawami Ji Friday 30th September, 2017

20 Dussehra Saturday 14th October, 2017

21 Diwali Thursday 19th October, 2017

22 Guru Nanak’s Birthday Saturday 04th November, 2017

23 Chelum (20 Safar 1439 AH) Friday 10th November, 2017

Important point Regarding Holidays 2017

**In case of Muslim Festivals, the dates of Optional holidays are based on anticipated dates and are subject to appearance of moon.

Government servants desiring to avail themselves of Optional Holidays shall take prior permission of the Head of Office concerned and no Government Servant shall be granted more than one optional holiday in the case of Muslims and three optional holidays in the case of non-Muslims, in a calendar year.

The grant of this concession should not result in any dislocation of work. In the case of Muslim optional holidays, the number of persons permitted to avail optional holidays should be regulated in a manner so as to adequate staff is available for proper continuance of the work.

The optional holidays are denominational and may be allowed at the discretion of the Head of office, provided that work is not suffered.

A Government Servant should not ordinarily be refused an Optional Holiday that is of religious significance to him and the refusal is likely to decrease the number of such holidays to which she/he is entitled.


Public Holidays 2017


Optional Holidays 2017

List of Holidays 2017


Share this post

Post Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.